View Full Version : This Site Could Be Infected.......
Ian John
12-30-2005, 05:05 PM
Hi Guys,
As some of you on this forum (myself included) may of recently expeireanced a problem when clicking onto the home page of Film Centre, my ISP has sent out warnings. For those of you interested, I have listed the warning below.
http://www.ntlworld.com/helpsupport/alerts/windows_critical_warning_30122005.php?page_zone=219.4.1
Regards.
Ian. (UK)
David Park
12-31-2005, 12:52 AM
Thanks Ian.
Do you think it is a genuine warning?
Taken to extremes it would have us turn our computers off.
I run a Virious programme, which automatically updated yesturday and ran, also I have Firewall on. ( Not had trouble logging on here, but my security stopped me logging on to another site, I had to relax them temporary to get a cookie to solve the problem.)
I get notified direct from Microsoft of security issues, but have nothing for the date in top right corner of your message, 30th Dec 2005.
Been to Microsoft Update and it says I'm up to date and there is nothing of that date, last was mid December.
Ian John
12-31-2005, 01:21 AM
Hi David,
The warning is genuine, NTL would not go to the trouble of putting a warning out on its Homepage otherwise. Microsoft also sent a warning to me. Even if you have not received an alert, your computer is still at risk if you have not got your anti-virus programme up to date and firewall running, but if you have, thats all you can do at this time. You yourself may not have had a problem login on to this site, but some of the other members (including myself) had a problem a couple of days ago, and I received a Microsoft warning which came up in the middle of my screen, and after reading the warning, I clicked the ok button, and the Main Page of this site was shut down on my computer, and it would not let me enter the site. Everything seems to be OK now, but that does not mean there is not still a threat out there.
Regards.
Ian. (UK)
Michael Coffin
12-31-2005, 07:09 AM
We've been discussing this since Monday:
http://www.efilmforum.com/showthread.php?t=6983
The problem does not affect eFilmForum.com 'per se', but rather the film-center.com domain that some users visit on their way to eFilmForum.com.
Dave is aware of the problem, but he is vacationing out of the country at the moment and unable to deal with this for a couple of days - so just don't go to the film-center.com index page (which is where the offending program is).
This is a legitimate problem that is impacting many web sites. Please do make sure that your anti-virus software is current and up to date.
Since this is a duplicate subject, please direct all further posts on this topic to the thread referenced above. Thanks.
-Mike
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.